Call Today 702.381.6590
Nevada Businesses Face Fines for Not Enforcing Mask Rule

Nevada Businesses Face Fines for Not Enforcing Mask Rule

Over the past few months, Nevada’s Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) has fined several businesses for failing to follow and enforce the COVID-19 health and safety rules, including failure to make people wear masks on the premises. The fines averaged between over $2,500 to up to more than $12,000. 

Ever since Gov. Steve Sisolak issued the mask mandate on June 25, 2020, not only are all state residents and visitors required to wear face coverings in public, but Nevada businesses are also required to make sure all patrons adhere to the rule. The only people who are exempt from the mask mandate include children between two and nine years of age, individuals who cannot wear masks for medical reasons, individuals experiencing homelessness, people who dine at a restaurant, and people who engage in outdoor activities. 

While federal authorities are penalizing Nevada businesses for not enforcing COVID-19 health guidelines, local jurisdictions have also taken matters into their own hands. This month, for example, the city of North Las Vegas began fining businesses for not following the face-covering guidelines. 

A first violation can lead to a written notice. A second violation is punishable by a $250, a third violation carries a $500 fine, and a fourth violation can result in a $1,000 fine.  

For more information about criminal offenses related to COVID-19, contact our Las Vegas criminal defense lawyers at The Draskovich Law Group today. Request a free consultation. 


Contact The Draskovich Law Group

Get Started With a Free Initial Consultation
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.