Las Vegas Marijuana Attorney
Marijuana Laws & Penalties in Nevada
The state of Nevada takes marijuana crimes extremely seriously, levying heavy penalties for even the smallest of crimes. Many marijuana charges are considered felonies in the state, which means you could face life-long consequences if you are convicted. Because of the seriousness of these penalties, you should not hesitate to contact a skilled Las Vegas marijuana attorney as soon as possible.
When you need representation, trust your case to The Draskovich Law Group. We are an award winning local law firm that has dedicated our practice exclusively to criminal defense matters, including drug crimes. Our attorneys have represented clients in more than 250 criminal cases, and their in-depth knowledge of the ever-changing field of criminal law gives them a wealth of resources they can put to work protecting you from the harshness of the criminal justice system.
If you are facing accusations of a marijuana offense, call The Draskovich Law Group today at (702) 381-6590 to schedule a consultation with our Las Vegas marijuana attorney!
Marijuana Charges in Nevada
Marijuana crimes are essentially the same as other drug crimes, but can carry different penalties because marijuana is prosecuted differently from other illicit drugs.
- Marijuana crimes are as follows:
- Possession: A first offense is a misdemeanor with no jail time and a fine of $600, but the penalties grow more severe with each conviction. A fourth offense is a felony with one to four years of jail time and a $5,000 fine.
- Sale or Possession with Intent to Sell: All marijuana sales charges are felonies. Sales of less than 100 lbs. have a penalty increase with each conviction, up to 15 years in prison and a $20,000 fine. More than 10,000 lbs. can land you life in prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
- Cultivation: Growing marijuana is a felony with a mandatory minimum sentence of a year in prison and a fine of up to $5,000 for possessing more than 12 plants.
- Drug Paraphernalia: possessing or using drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, but selling drug paraphernalia is a felony with a mandatory one-year prison sentence and fine up to $5,000. Selling to a minor at least three years younger carries this minimum sentence, but has a maximum fine of up to $10,000.
Nevada also has civil penalties attached to marijuana crimes, starting at 100 lbs. These civil penalties can be anywhere from $350,000 up to $1 million for 10,000 lbs. or more.
Don’t face your charges without speaking to The Draskovich Law Group first. Contact us today!