Felony DUI in Nevada
Call (702) 381-6590 for Experienced & Knowledgeable Legal Representation
Nevada law aims to deter people from committing multiple DUI cases by increasing the penalties for each successive conviction. While a first-time and second-time DUI in Nevada are only considered misdemeanors, a third-time DUI—within seven years of the first offense—is automatically charged as a felony. Additionally, there are other offenses that result in a felony DUI.
At Turco & Draskovich, we have helped many individuals charged with DUI in Las Vegas and throughout Southern Nevada. With more than two decades of legal experience, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys possess a thorough understanding of Nevada law to help you navigate through the complexities of the criminal justice system. Do not risk facing these serious penalties without skilled and reputable legal counsel.
Penalties for Felony DUI
In Nevada, a third-time DUI that occurs within seven years of the first one is a category B felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of six years, fines of up to $5,000, license suspension for up to three years, and other administrative penalties. If an individual is convicted of a DUI following a felony DUI conviction, it is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 15 years.
DUI causing death or injury is also considered as category B felony, but results in a maximum prison sentence of 20 years. Remember, if an individual has three prior DUI convictions and causes a fatal DUI accident will be charged with a Nevada vehicular homicide, which is a category A felony that results in a maximum prison sentence of 25 years or life imprisonment.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
If you have been arrested for a felony DUI in Nevada, do not hesitate to reach out to our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys. We may be able to either get your entire case dismissed or negotiate with the prosecution to reduce the charges.
Contact us and discuss your legal options immediately.