Call Today 702.381.6590
Does Nevada Have an Occupational Restricted License?

Does Nevada Have an Occupational Restricted License?

If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, you are not legally allowed to drive, which could make it challenging to take care of various tasks, such as going to work, school, or the grocery store.

In Nevada, you can lose your driving privileges for several reasons, including:

  • Accumulating points: Committing certain driving offenses results in points being assessed against your license. Accumulating 12 or more points within 12 months could result in a suspension of your driver’s license.
  • Driving Under the Influence: Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher, or being convicted of a DUI, could result in a driver’s license suspension or revocation, depending on the number of prior offenses.
  • Causing an accident with a bicyclist or pedestrian: Colliding with a person riding a bike or walking along the street.
  • Failing to appear for a court date: Not paying the fine or appearing in court by the deadline for a traffic citation.
  • Failing to maintain valid insurance: Not having valid insurance and causing an accident that resulted in more than $750 in damages, could result in a driver’s license and vehicle registration suspension.
  • Failing to pay child support: Not paying support as ordered by the court.
  • Participating in street racing: Receiving a conviction for participating in or organizing a race on a public road.

Restricted License

For some offenses, your license could be revoked or suspended for years. Generally, before you can have it reinstated, you must comply with all requirements and pay all necessary fines.

The loss of your driver’s license, even for a few months, can cause a serious burden. Fortunately, for some offenses, you can apply for a restricted license, which allows you to drive to and from work, school, medical appointments, and the grocery store.

To apply, you must have served at least half of the time of the suspension period. For example, if your license was suspended for 180 days, you could apply for a restricted license 90 days into your term.

Unfortunately, as of 2018, if your driver’s license was suspended because of a DUI or refusal to submit to chemical testing, you would not be eligible for a restricted license. However, you can apply to reinstate your license if you have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on all vehicles you drive.

Call Today for a Free Consultation with The Draskovich Law Group

Our attorneys know that a DUI conviction can result in the loss of your driving privileges, affecting your ability to take care of daily tasks. If you were arrested for a DUI, we will fight hard to get charges reduced or dropped.

Let our experienced team help with your legal matters. Call us at (702) 381-6590 or contact us online.


Contact The Draskovich Law Group

Get Started With a Free Initial Consultation
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.