The Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution gives Americans the right to bear arms; however, violations of Nevada gun laws can result in serious criminal consequences. In this article, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at Turco & Draskovich provide an overview of state firearm laws, including the penalties for violating them.
Can I open carry in Nevada?
Open carry is legal in the state, which means residents are allowed to carry firearms openly in public.
What about concealed carry?
Concealed carry is also legal as long as the individual has a valid carrying concealed weapons (CCW) permit. Nevada residents must obtain a CCW permit from the county where they reside. The Department of Public Safety recognizes CCW permits from several states.
Concealed carry without a valid permit is considered a category C felony, which is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years and a potential fine of up to $10,000.
Where are guns prohibited?
Handguns, pistols, and rifles are not allowed at the following locations:
- Public and private schools
- Child care centers
- Government buildings
- Federal facilities
- VA facilities
- Post offices
- Military bases
- Hoover Dam
Possession of a firearm in a restricted location is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of six months, a fine of up to $1,000, and potentially community service.
Can I carry a gun in a bar?
Carrying a gun while drinking or in a bar is not itself illegal. However, if a person in possession of a firearm had a BAC of .1 or higher, then it is considered a misdemeanor that results in a maximum jail sentence of six months and fines of up to $1,000.
Can I possess a firearm with a criminal record or protective order?
Individuals convicted of felonies or domestic violence are prohibited from carrying guns in Nevada. If an ex-felon possesses a firearm, it is considered a category B felony that results in a maximum prison sentence of six years and a fine of up to $5,000. If a person subject of a restraining order possesses a firearm, it is a gross misdemeanor that is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and fines of up to $2,000.
Can I use firearms to hunt?
People are required to have licenses to hunt with guns in Nevada. Hunting without a license is a misdemeanor.
Can children carry guns?
Children under 18 years of age are not allowed to have guns in the state. Breaking this law can result in 200 hours of community service and one-year driver’s license suspension.
Furthermore, adults who illegally aid a child in possessing a firearm also face criminal charges. Helping a child is a category C felony if there is a substantial risk the child will be violent, while it is a misdemeanor if there is no significant risk the child will be violent.
Are assault weapons legal?
Although state laws do not address assault weapons, federal law forbids machine gun possession unless it was lawfully registered before May 19, 1986. Unlawful possession of a machine gun is a felony, punishable by a maximum federal prison sentence of 10 years and a fine of up to $250,000.
If you have been arrested for a Nevada gun crime, contact Turco & Draskovich and request a free consultation with our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys today.