Skip to Content

Can I Get a DUI for Biking While Intoxicated in NV?


Many people believe a great alternative to avoid getting arrested for a DUI is to ride their bicycles, rather than drive their vehicles. Yet, DUI laws in many states apply to intoxicated cyclists. 

Fortunately, Nevada is not one of those states. The state DUI laws only apply to motorized vehicles like cars and motorcycles, rather than bicycles or even electronic scooters (e-scooters). 

However, intoxicated cyclists can still face criminal charges. In fact, inebriated bikers can be charged with “reckless endangerment,” which means acting or behavior in a willful or wanton manner without considering the safety of others on the road. 

If you are arrested for reckless endangerment associated with cycling under the influence, you could be charged with a gross misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 364 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000. But if the alleged offense involved causing serious injury to another person or death, then reckless endangerment is a category C felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to five years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000. 

Additionally, you could also be charged with the following offenses for intoxicated cycling: 

  • Failing to ride on the right-most side of the road 

  • Failing to hand-signal prior to making a turn 

  • Failing to have functioning breaks, reflectors, or lamps 

In Nevada, most cycling violations are misdemeanors. The penalties include a maximum six-month jail term and a fine not exceeding $1,000. 

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI or reckless endangerment in Las Vegas, contact The Draskovich Law Group today at (702) 381-6590 for a free initial consultation. Get more than 25 years of experience on your side!