In November 2016, Nevada residents voted to decriminalize recreational marijuana. Effective as of January 1, 2017, adults who are 21 years of age or older are allowed to consume, buy, possess, and cultivate up to one ounce of marijuana and to grow up to six marijuana plants at a time or no more than 12 plants per household.
The process of purchasing marijuana is as simple as walking into a dispensary, choosing what you want, showing your ID, and paying for it. Since marijuana is still considered illegal at the federal level, you will need to bring cash.
You can only consume or smoke marijuana in a private residence such as houses, apartments, condos, driveways, and patios. Consuming or smoking marijuana in public is illegal, punishable by a fine of up to $600.
When it comes to driving, you can carry marijuana—much like alcohol—around or drive with it in your vehicle. However, driving stoned is against the law and subject to a DUI that is punishable by jail time, a suspended license, and a fine of up to $1,000. Passengers are also not allowed to smoke or consume marijuana in a vehicle.
With constant changes in Nevada law and the continuing tension between state and federal marijuana laws, it is imperative now more than ever to have access to trustworthy information. Not only can an expert criminal defense lawyer advise you of the current state of the law in your area, but can also represent you if you’re facing criminal charges in the future.